catmother

Love to read, knit and crochet. I have two grown sons and a husband and 3 cats. I am currently disabled due to arthritis (hands, knees and spine) and fibromyalgia. I had a knee replacement 5 years ago and it was the best thing I had done. Now need one on the other knee! Before that I was a database specialist and before that I was a systems analyst and before that I was a programmer and before that I was a nurse. I have had many varied careers ( besides being a wife and mom), but through all of them I enjoyed crafting. I made the ornaments for our very first Christmas tree and as each child was born, I created a unique Christmas stocking for him (both boys). I sewed a lot of the baby clothes for each boy and knit them sweaters and buntings. Now I knit them hats - they're not much for sweaters and such. I love to paint and have branched out into learning to draw portraits - I did one of my father-in-law who has passed. I framed it and gave it to my mom-in-law and she loves it. I also did one for my husband's aunt and uncle at their 50th anniversary and included it in a scrapbook that I made for them of the event. I scrapbook, draw, do decorative painting, knit, crochet, make cards, sew and bead jewelry. I'm game for trying anything new that does not need really fine motor skills. It will be nice to communicate with people who enjoy crafting as those around me aren't really crafty and do not appreciate handmade items - except my hubby of 37 years. He loves to carve wood - I like to paint his results.

catmother's Status

"Currently teaching myself to knit socks and trying to stay warm in this deep freeze that we are undergoing here in the northeast part of the USA"

Age
65
Sex
Female
Location
North Easton